Trump’s Executive Order to Protect Nation

US President Donald Trump signed an executive order today protecting the nation from foreign terrorists by prohibiting their entry from six nations. The executive order states that it is the policy of the US to improve the screening and vetting protocols and procedures associated with the visa-issuance process and the United States Refugee Admissions Program (USRAP). The USRAP detects foreign nationals who may commit, aid, or support acts of terrorism and also prevents them from entering the US. The six nations affected by the order are Iran, Libya, Somalia, Sudan, Syria and Yemen.

The order states that unrestricted entry of people into the US from those six nations “would be detrimental to the interests of the United States.” The order goes on to state that the nations affected are either a state sponsor of terrorism, has been significantly compromised by terrorist organizations, or contains active conflict zones. Also, the order mentions that these circumstances reduces the nation’s ability or willingness to share or validate information about those seeking to travel to the US.

The executive order suspends entry into the US for 90 days from those countries. After the 90 day suspension period, a review will be conducted that will either add additional countries to the list or remove countries from the list. The executive order goes in to affect today.



One thought on “Trump’s Executive Order to Protect Nation

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s