French Armed Forces Chief Quits After Macron’s Cuts

RT reports today that the French military chief has resigned after an open conflict with President Emmanuel Macron over spending. Pierre de Villiers publicly complained about Macron’s cuts to the military’s budget, reportedly saying that he won’t be “f’d like that.” General de Villiers was quoted by French media as saying, “In the current circumstances I see myself as no longer able to guarantee the robust defense force I believe is necessary to guarantee the protection of France and the French people, today and tomorrow, and to sustain the aims of our country.”

According to the report, General de Villiers, 60, protested the cuts before the parliamentary committee saying, “I won’t let myself be f’d like that. I may be stupid, but I know when I am being had.” He added that Macron had accepted his resignation. During his traditional annual address to the army where top army officers and their families were present, President Macron said, “I have made commitments, I am your boss.”

RT report found here.

Leave a Reply

